Simply fall into Uttanasana

Uttanasana or Folding forward bend is one of my favourite rescue-remedy-yoga-pose. When I am tired of all day sitting at work or my body is exhausted, need to calm myself down. All I do is getup, take a deep breathe and exhale myself into forward fold.

When I first started yoga, I couldn’t even touch my feet due to tight muscles at the back, but now I can simply relax and I can not just touch my feet, I can touch the ground now as well. It is all about practice.

Now the basic misconception is that if you are overweight you can’t bring flexibility in your body. So let me remind who ever is reading this blog that YOGA IS FOR EVERY DAMN PERSON, regardless of their weight and size, lifestyle, physical disabilities etc. IT IS FOR EVERY ONE, I REPEAT.

Here, I am sharing couple of links which will help you understand better the pose and also will help you in practice. Those of you who are new to this and having difficulty due to tight muscles can read about its modification.

http://www.yogajournal.com/pose/standing-forward-bend/

http://www.gaia.com/pose/standing-forward-bend-uttanasana

https://yogainternational.com/article/view/standing-forward-bend

Here are some of its benefits:

  • Calms the brain and helps relieve stress and mild depression
  • Stimulates the liver and kidneys
  • Stretches the hamstrings, calves, and hips
  • Strengthens the thighs and knees
  • Improves digestion
  • Helps relieve the symptoms of menopause
  • Reduces fatigue and anxiety
  • Relieves headache and insomnia
  • Therapeutic for asthma, high blood pressure, infertility, osteoporosis, and sinusitis

P.S Just remember one more thing, it is completely OKAY if you can not do the pose completely at first. In yoga, even an inch of a progress matters, even if you can just fold forward till where ever you are comfortable and keep on breathing, it is enough.

Just try to listen to your body. If it says stop, you stop right there. But never ever forget to breathe. Just inhale and exhale in whatever position you are.

Happy practice everybody 🙂

IMG_20160815_151209

Namaste!

 

 

Leave a Reply

