Don’t Call me to yourself Again and Again (Sufi Poem)

1620967_10152221907601170_44320103_n

Neither does my love have a beginning

Nor does my love have an end

My love alone is my God

Don’t give me any other

Don’t call me to yourself again and again

Don’t inflame my hopeless longings

In my heart, there is the blaze of love

May this fire not burn you

I am not a beggar, I am an ascetic

I am the chief of the qalandars

I desire nothing from you

Don’t let me become someone who begs

 


This is the pride and vanity of my passion

My pleasure is entering a state of rapture

Don’t come to my mind again and again

Don’t give me fidelity if possible

Don’t call me to yourself again and again

Don’t inflame my hopeless longings

In my heart, there is the blaze of love

May this fire not burn you

I am not a beggar, I am an ascetic

I am the chief of the qalandars

I desire nothing from you

Don’t let me become someone who begs

 

My very life is love

My very devotion is love

Consider me to be among the noble lovers

Don’t reward me for love

Don’t call me to yourself again and again

Don’t inflame my hopeless longings

In my heart, there is the blaze of love

May this fire not burn you

I am not a beggar, I am an ascetic

I am the chief of the qalandars

I desire nothing from you

Don’t let me become someone who begs

Don’t call me to yourself again and again

Don’t inflame my hopeless longings

 

 (Written by Sufi poet, Hazrat Baba Gulzar Sabri)

Leave a Reply

